AMD / Rack-scale system
AMD Helios
AMD explicitly identifies Helios as a reference design rather than an AMD product for sale. The reviewed page expects OEM/ODM volume deployments in the second half of 2026.
Manufacturer specification reference
- Architecture
- MI455X / EPYC Venice / PensandoAMD Helios rackscale reference design (external source) · AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Category
- Complete rack-scale referenceAMD Helios rackscale reference design (external source) · AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Accelerator memory
- 31,000 GBPublished rounded aggregate up to 31 TB GPU HBM converted to decimal GB; CPU memory excluded.AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Memory type
- HBM4AMD Helios rackscale reference design (external source) · AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Memory bandwidth
- 1,670 TB/sBrochure's up to 1.67 PB/s aggregate GPU memory bandwidth converted to decimal TB/s; not scale-up interconnect bandwidth.AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Power
- Not verified for this recordNo operating rack draw verified in reviewed Helios sources; power shelf description is not an operating-power measurement.AMD Helios rackscale reference design (external source) · AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Precision formats
- OCP-MXFP4, OCP-MXFP6, OCP-MXFP8AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
- Cooling / integration
- Liquid-cooled reference rack.AMD Helios rackscale reference design (external source) · AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure (external source)
Configuration boundaries
- Rounded manufacturer rack totals are retained, rather than presenting exact capacity derived from GPU count.
- Bandwidth in this record is the brochure aggregate; the webpage separately quotes a per-GPU peak. Interconnect throughput is a different metric.
- Manufacturer theoretical throughput is not a benchmark or a delivered token-rate claim.
Published arithmetic throughput
| Specification | Precision | Published peak | Boundary & source |
|---|---|---|---|
| OCP-MXFP4 peak compute | OCP-MXFP4 | 2.9 EFLOPS | Whole reference rack; manufacturer peak theoretical specificationManufacturer source ↗ |
| OCP-MXFP8 peak compute | OCP-MXFP8 | 1.4 EFLOPS | Whole reference rack; manufacturer peak theoretical specificationManufacturer source ↗ |
Deployment considerations
- An OEM implementation needs its own electrical, thermal, networking and acceptance specification.
- Rack memory is distributed across GPUs; compare the reference rack only with other complete rack configurations.
- Track OEM availability separately from AMD's reference-design publication.
Software ecosystem
ROCm. Confirm the exact model, runtime release, server integration and vendor support matrix before evaluating a deployment.
Sources & verification
Reference revision 1 · Reviewed . Manufacturer claims and documentation are attributed; Aguasto has not run the cited products in production.
- AMD Helios rackscale reference design ↗
72 MI455X GPUs; Helios is a reference design not an AMD product for sale; Volume deployments expected in 2H 2026; ROCm ecosystem; Liquid-cooled Open Rack Wide architecture. Publication: date not stated in the reviewed source. Verified: 2026-10-12.
- AMD Helios Rackscale Solution brochure ↗
72 GPUs in 18 four-GPU compute trays; Up to 31 TB HBM4; Up to 1.67 PB/s aggregate GPU memory bandwidth; Liquid cooling; ROCm; Up to 2.9 EFLOPS OCP MXFP4 and 1.4 EFLOPS OCP MXFP6/MXFP8. Publication: date not stated in the reviewed source. Verified: 2026-10-12.